USGA Issues Statement on 90-Day Period Involving Proposed Rules Change on Anchored-Putter Ban


The 90-day period for commenting on proposed Rule 14-1b of the Rules of Golf, which would prohibit anchoring any club when making a golf stroke, ended yesterday. The United States Golf Association (USGA), which governs the game worldwide together with the R&A, issued the following statement:

"The 90-day comment period on proposed Rule 14-1b has been very constructive and we appreciate the thoughtfulness of everyone who offered feedback. We received comments, questions and suggestions from recreational golfers, golf professionals and organizations representing many segments of the golf community. The discussion has been informative and serves as a strong reminder of just how passionate golfers are about the game - no matter their position on this specific issue.

"For well over a year, the golf community has engaged in a healthy and spirited discussion about anchoring, as well as other important issues confronting the game. Throughout this period, we have worked to explain the intent of Rule 14-1b, which aims to clarify and preserve the traditional and essential nature of the golf stroke that has helped to make golf a unique and enjoyable game of skill and challenge for centuries.

"As the comment period comes to a close, we will continue to review and evaluate the feedback that we have received. As we have throughout this process, we will continue to confer with the R&A in our work to reach a final resolution on this matter."

The above report is courtesy of the USGA. For more information, visit www.usga.org. For more information about the proposed Rule 14-1b, visit www.usga.org/anchoring.


CBS Sports Official Partner