Golf Course WebsitesGolfRevText Golfer

'Pink Links' Tees Off Third Session with Golf Skills Challenge


The Players Championship, Tour Academy TPC Sawgrass and Baptist Health have teamed up to again offer "Pink Links," part of the Link-Up-2-Golf program which helps breast cancer survivors become involved with golf while building friendships with other survivors. The ultimate goal is to provide breast cancer survivors with an environment that promotes their healing process.

To tee it off, the Players invites all past and current participants and special guests to a golf-skills challenge and reception in their honor on Saturday, March 7, 2-4 pm, at the Tour Academy TPC Sawgrass. Dressed in Pink Links and golf attire, alumna will show off the golfing skills learned in a fun challenge followed by an awards ceremony and induction reception for the first class of 2009.

How to Take Part in Pink Links

To be nominated and considered for "Pink Links," entrants must be a breast cancer survivor who is at least six months out of treatment. The program offers the chance to learn about the game, improve well-being through increased arm motion and walking, and to socialize with other survivors at the TPC Sawgrass.

The nomination form can be submitted by friends, co-workers, relatives or the survivors themselves. Those chosen will be sent a registration form and medical release to be completed and returned. The names of those not selected for this session will be kept on file for future sessions.

Each "Pink Links" session is designed around two levels of instruction. Each level consists of four one-and-a-half-hour sessions, held at the TPC Sawgrass clubhouse. The Level 1 class is free for breast cancer survivors. Level 2 sessions will be offered at $75 for the additional four-week session. The classes are small to enable one-on-one instruction to better assist participants who want to learn golf.

The schedule for the first series of sessions is as follows:

Level 1

Saturday, February 28
Saturday, March 7
Saturday, March 14
Saturday, March 21

Level 2

Saturday, March 28
Saturday, April 4
Saturday, April 11
Saturday, April 18

The schedule for the second series of Pink Links sessions is as follows:

Level 1

Saturday, May 16
Saturday, May 23
Saturday, May 30
Saturday, June 6

Level 2

Saturday, June 13
Saturday, June 20
Saturday, June 27
Saturday, July 4

The schedule for the third series of Pink Links sessions is as follows:

Level 1

Saturday, July 18
Saturday, July 25
Saturday, August 1
Saturday, August 8

Level 2 Saturday, August 15
Saturday, August 22
Saturday, August 29
Saturday, September 5

The schedule for the fourth series of Pink Links sessions is as follows:

Level 1

Saturday, September 19
Saturday, September 26
Saturday, October 3
Saturday, October 10

Level 2

Saturday, October 17
Saturday, October 24
Saturday, October 31
Saturday, November 7

"The Players Championship benefits every May from the tireless commitment of our 2,000 volunteers, and, in turn, we're proud to offer Pink Links to women on the First Coast who have fought breast cancer so bravely," said Jay Monahan, executive director of the Players Championship. "We celebrate their efforts by offering them an opportunity to make new friendships, enjoy the beauty of TPC Sawgrass and learn or improve on a sport that exemplifies integrity and perseverance. We hope that through this program and many others, we can one day celebrate an ultimate victory over breast cancer."

For more information, call Charlene Shirk at 904/280-4722. To download the nomination form, visit www.e-baptisthealth.com/pinklinks.com.